An Afternoon of Indulgence

Lost in a sea of people, I turn full circle. Nothing is familiar. No one reaches out. No one claims me. I’m one of many. I belong to no one, and no one belongs to me. Languid and unhurried, I glide away from the crowd. Moving at my own pace, I leisurely explore.

The smells, the sounds, and the sights blend together. My senses are awakened. The onslaught of temptations leap out. Soaking it all in, I’m charmed by the offerings proudly displayed. Fresh ripe berries. Sweet delicate multi-colored macaroons. Freshly baked loaves of bread. Thick steaks. Gallons of apple cider. Gooey caramel and candied apples. Various types of cheeses. Sausages and bacon. Chocolate covered jalapenos. Crispy carrots, celery, and lettuce. Spices and herbs. Stalks of corn. Vendors try to lure customers to their booths by hurtling promises of fresh quality and amazing discount prices.

 

Lingering here and there, I indulge every now and again. Cash trades hand. Collecting my bags, I’ve gathered a nice assortment of fresh produce, meats, and sweets by the time I’m done. As closing time approaches, the vendors become increasingly competitive. Wanting to make those final sales before closing up and heading home, they are more willing than ever to strike a deal. Commerce is alive and well at the West Side Farmer’s Market in Cleveland, Ohio.

The West Side Market in Cleveland, Ohio is located at the corner of Loraine Avenue and West 25th Street.

Open: 7 days a week

4 thoughts on “An Afternoon of Indulgence

Leave a Reply

