Modern Day Travelers, Nomads, and Gypsies

A Nomadic Life in Seattle, Washington

Call it what you will, but the premise behind the names are the same. Increasingly, people from all walks of life are opting for the freedom of a mobile lifestyle. Rejecting the traditional, people are choosing to create something different for themselves.

My own travels began almost a year ago. I chose this life after spending a lifetime in the corporate world. Fifteen, sixteen, seventeen hour days were the norm. My job was my life. I dedicated every waking moment to the grind, and the more I gave the further I moved up the ladder. After twelve years of climbing, I made it to the top. Finally, I had the fancy title, the big corner office, and a nice six figure salary. The rewards were sweet, but not nearly sweet enough. I was miserable. Somewhere along the way, I’d lost my drive. I lost my love for the fight. Can you imagine? I couldn’t. Finally, I’d earned the position I’d been coveting at a company I’d grown to love, but now that it was mine I didn’t want it. Day after day, I dragged myself through the motions hoping to find what I’d lost, but my misery grew exponentially. I couldn’t continue to live this way.

Skating along the edge of recklessness and insanity, I took the plunge. I resigned from my coveted position, traded in my four bedroom house for a thirty four foot motor home, exchanged my power suits and heels for jeans and sneakers, and sold most of my worldly goods.

My beast of a motor home is my haven. It carries me around the back roads of the United States while offering me shelter at the end of the day. It gives me the freedom to travel while providing me with a sense of security on the road. There are a myriad of ways to travel, but until I’m brave enough to downsize to a back pack this works for me.

2 thoughts on “Modern Day Travelers, Nomads, and Gypsies

Leave a Reply

